Call 911
Call 911 to report hazardous biking, motorized scooter driving, rollerblading, or skating that involves injury or destruction of property.

In New York City, only people under age 12 may ride their bicycles on the sidewalk.

You may not ride motorized scooters and pocket bikes on New York City public streets or sidewalks or in parks. All bicycle drivers and in-line skaters under age 14 must wear a helmet under New York State law. Helmets must meet the standards of the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) or the Snell Memorial Foundation. Although not required by law, skaters and skateboarders should always wear protective gear such as elbow and knee pads and wrist guards.

You can report hazardous biking, motorized scooter driving, rollerblading, or skating that occurs repeatedly in unwanted locations.

What Happens Next

Officers from your local police precinct will respond when they are not handling emergency situations.

Certain pedal-assist bicycles may be legally operated on New York City streets.  

Pedal-assist bicycles are defined as bicycles that have fully operable pedals and an electric motor of less than 750 watts (1 horsepower). The electric motor can only engage when the operator is pedaling and going less than 20 miles per hour, and disengages or stops to function when the operator brakes, stops pedaling, or when the bicycle reaches a speed of 20 miles per hour. Pedal-assist bicycles cannot be equipped with any throttle capacity or have additional motorized equipment attached to it.

The pedal-assist bicycle must have an original label, provided by the bicycle or electric motor manufacturer, that states the maximum motor-assisted speed and motor wattage of the bicycle. Pedal-assist bicycles that have been modified are not considered to be pedal-assist bicycles and may not be operated on NYC streets.

  Was this information helpful?   Yes    No